Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter

Impressions of Old Glory


“Impressions of Old Glory”
by Jack E. Dawson

Blessed is the nation whose God is the LORD.  Psalm 33:12 KJV




     “Old Glory” appears to float in the darkness, suspended only by the cross on which it rests. Its battle colors, tatters and bullet holes speak of the great battle raging for the soul of our nation. Through the symbolism of the flag folding ceremony, “Impressions of Old Glory” represents the principles of faith on which our country was founded.   Beginning at the lower portion of the painting and progressing upward, the 25 hidden symbols in the painting depict the meaning of each fold of the flag during a traditional flag folding ceremony described in the text below.  Only the explanations of the hidden pictures have been added.




1st    The first fold of our flag is a symbol of life. (1) Baby (2) Flower blooming
2nd   The second fold is a symbol of our belief in the eternal life. (3) Gates of Heaven with angel
3rd  The third fold is made in honor and remembrance of the veteran departing our ranks who gave a portion of life for the defense of our country to attain a peace throughout the world. (4) Wheelchair (5) Mourner at grave
4th    The fourth fold represents our weaker nature, for as American citizens trusting in God, it is to Him we turn in times of peace as well as in times of war for His divine guidance. (6) Adam’s fall (hand/apple)   (7) 10 Commandments (upside down and broken)
5th    The fifth fold is a tribute to our country, for in the words of Stephen Decatur, “Our country, in dealing with other countries, may she always be right; but it is still our country, right or wrong.” (8) Man pledging allegiance   (9) Woman pledging allegiance
6th   The sixth fold is for where our hearts lie. It is with our heart that we pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all. (10) Heart
7th    The seventh fold is a tribute to our Armed Forces, for it is through the Armed Forces that we protect our country and our flag against all her enemies, whether they be found within or without the boundaries of our republic. Emblems of: (11) Army (12) Navy (13) Air Force (14) Marine (15) Coast Guard
8th   The eighth fold is a tribute to the one who entered in to the valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day, and to honor mother, for whom it flies on Mother’s Day. (16) Rose and “MOM” (17) Tomb
 9th   The ninth fold is a tribute to womanhood; for it has been through their faith, love, loyalty and devotion that the character of the men and women who have made this country great have been molded. (18) Woman
10th The tenth fold is a tribute to father, for he, too, has given his sons and daughters for the defense of our country since they were first born. (19) “FATHER”
11th The eleventh fold, in the eyes of a Hebrew citizen, represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon, and glorifies, in their eyes, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. (20) Star of David (21) Tabernacle
12th The twelfth fold, in the eyes of a Christian citizen, represents an emblem of eternity and glorifies, in their eyes, God the Father, the Son, and Holy Ghost.   (22) Manger of Jesus Christ   (23) Cross of Jesus Christ   (24) Empty tomb of Jesus Christ
13th  When the flag is completely folded, the stars are uppermost, reminding us of our national motto, “In God we Trust.”

Military organizations used this script for the flag folding ceremony for years during military memorial services.


To purchase - call The Great Passion Play 479-253-5358 or 417-673-4871.

    There are no products in this category.